Slutty Book Reports: An Introduction

some of the little gems I borrowed from the library of the Lawd.

Last weekend I was hanging out with a dear friend whose father has a doctorate in Christian Ministry. In their home is an extensive library of evangelical book titles. This excited me to no end. We spent an afternoon giggling and reading to each other from various tomes, and she was kind enough to let me borrow some for my own perusal.

It was hard not to just grab the whole lot (you’d be amazed what people can write with a straight face), but I managed to select 5 titles:

How You Can Succeed As A Christian Secretary by Jean L. Hansens

The Right Romance in Marriage by Cathy Rice (with a forward by her husband Dr. Bill Rice. Because Heaven forbid she share an opinion he doesn’t preface.)

Radical Womanhood: Feminine Faith in a Feminist World by Carolyn McCulley (very excited about this one.)

The 1980’s: Countdown to Armageddon by Hal Lindsey

Why I Believe by Dr. James Kennedy
So, I thought, why not have a 5 week Slutty Book Report project? I’ll introduce a book and talk a little bit about what I expected based on skimming the surface, and then I’ll follow up with a full scathing book review. Now, admittedly, these reports will be mostly tongue in cheek: I fully expect to disagree with these authors. All of them are very fundamentally opposed to my beliefs, politics and ethics. However, I’m not such a persnickety critic that I’d rule out being able to learn something, or even be surprised. Who knows! Wonders never cease.

To shake things up a little bit, I’m going to leave the selection of which book I read each week up to my readers. This’ll keep things interesting, and I enjoy the feedback. I’ve linked the titles of the books to their correlating Amazon descriptions so you can check them out yourselves.

I look forward to your comments and thoughts on the books! If you have anything specific you’d like me to look for during the imbibing of evangelical knowledge, feel free to ask as well.

5 responses to “Slutty Book Reports: An Introduction

  1. Heh, I was looking through the amazon pages for these books and found one sentence I can’t not comment on.

    “Radical Womanhood seeks to equip new believers and long-time Christians alike, exposing the anti-God agenda of the three waves of feminism to date and presenting the pro-woman truth of the Scriptures.”
    Did they seriously just say “pro-woman … scriptures”? They must have either a very different definition of pro, or a very different definition of woman than I do.

    I’m looking forward to these book reports. This should be amusing.

    • It will certainly be interesting to see what they deem to be “pro woman” for sure.
      As Inigo Montoya said in Princess Bride
      “That word. you keep using it. I do not think it means what you think it means!”
      Haha, thanks for the comment! I’m so glad to have you on board!

  2. Well, they all sound like winners (!), but I vote for Hal Lindsey. His first book, The Late, Great Planet Earth was a huge bestseller in about 1970… it really got evangelicals thinking about end-times prophecy. As I recall, he was pretty convinced that Israeli statehood was a sign, and that the rapture must occur within a generation… meaning 40 years. So, 1948 plus 40 is, what? Anyway, I’ll be interested to hear if he got more specific in the 1980s book.

  3. Pingback: Slutty Book Reports: Radical Womanhood (1/7) | The Atheist Slut·

  4. Pingback: Which Evangelical Book Should I Read Next? | The Atheist Slut·

What did you think of this post? Please comment!

