Dating for Sluts

In the world of dating, single men get to throw around the terms bachelor, playboy or stud while us confirmed single ladies get…spinster, wallflower or floozy. Not exactly flattering. If you’re a lady who has no desire to attach herself to a particular dude, you’re more or less a freak of nature. I’ve often been wowed by this contradiction. When acquaintances ask me if I’m seeing someone “special”, my nonchalant answer leaves them confused.

“There’s a perfect somebody for everybody,” they assure me, “you just haven’t found him yet.”

Hmm, really?

I’m the girl who wears a fake wedding ring for the specific purpose of avoiding date offers. Last July, for my 25th birthday, I had a beautiful faux wedding with my closest and sluttiest friends as bridesmaids and groomsmen. My best friend of 11 years was my faux hubby. In all seriousness, my chums really are my “marriage” and thumbing our collective noses at the notion that a wedding is the pinnacle of a woman’s existence was a fun experiment.

According to my more dating-savvy friends, once I’m ready to open my heart to the inevitable search for completion, I won’t have to look far— there are a plethora of dating sites to choose from! Ranging from casual encounters to more serious connections, you could have more cyber soul mates than you can click your mouse at.

I can’t help but wonder if this avenue of seeking a life partner is worth looking into. Yet, at the same time, I am skeptical about actively searching for love. The best relationships and sexual encounters I’ve had to date have usually been the result of fortuitous “accidents”. On a more primitive level, we’re all basically reacting to each other’s scent and pheromones and as a result we’re often surprised by the kinds of people who attract us. Is this even possible to gauge by looking at someone’s picture and reading a 500 word blurb about them? Also, I’ve been intrigued of late by the hackneyed radio and TV ads for finding “God’s perfect match for you.”

I wonder what God would have to say about my love life.

I think I’m going to try something, dear readers. I’m going to sign up on several different large religious dating web sites, such as ChristianMingle, CatholicMatch, and SingleMuslim. Why? Because I want to see what all the fuss is about, and I’d really like to research the business model of orchestrating a virtual love life with a specific denomination in mind. What are the mission statements of these sites? What are their success rates? What are their members looking for?

If you have any other suggestions for sites to check out, please comment. I don’t intend to mislead anyone on there or pretend to be someone I’m not. Rather, I’d like to gauge the cyber dating world as an atheist slut, and report back my findings.

Is this a good idea? Am I liable to just piss a bunch of folks off, or could I learn something about online dating?

4 responses to “Dating for Sluts

  1. Before you go through the fuss of filling out profiles.. Maybe u’d like to try going to a singles night to check out the scene… Just a thought, being that I would be too lazy to go through the trouble o finding someone online.. Either way.. Keep us posted 🙂

  2. Pingback: Poll: Which Religious Dating Sites Should I Sign Up With? | The Atheist Slut·

What did you think of this post? Please comment!

