New Year & New Book

Hey there fellow seekers of uninhibited truth!

Did everyone have a good holidays? I sure hope so. Mine was pretty epic to be sure. I spent Xmas with my family, which was very positive and pleasant. I even went to Church! Catholic basilicas are gorgeously decorated for Christmas and I was surprised at how well I remembered the carols from childhood. My boyfriend and I threw a big house party for New Years, which was a rousing success. However, in case any of you didn’t know, one feels the effect of alcohol much more acutely after stewing in a hot tub with 10 other people, so be warned! Also, moonshine? Just don’t try it, with the exception of maybe using it in your gas tank.

I was delighted to see this post, in which a lovely blogger talks about the people who have made a big impact on them this year among the WordPress community. Having been named as one of those bloggers, I am incredibly humbled and inspired to continue on my little corner of the internet, especially since I only really started this project at the beginning of October.Thanks for the shout out!

Now, on to the order of the day….

I think I’m going to try something new for this week’s slutty book report by putting the poll on my facebook page, and linking the book descriptions here on the blog. Lately my page seems to have gone viral, and my “likes”  more than doubled overnight.

For those of you who are not aware of what my slutty book reports actually are, here’s the archive. Basically, I read and review a book which my readers vote on. I’ve reviewed all kinds of interesting books, given my readers a chuckle (and maybe even an a-ha! or two) and fulfilled my yearly goal of reading 48 books in 2012.

So, the books for this round are as follows (with amazon.com book info)

Why You Should Speak In Tongues by Norvel Hayes

A blogger friend suggested I read this book, and I’m itching for an excuse to do so.

What if you could pray perfect prayers – prayers that would unleash the full power of God in your life and the lives of others? God has given you the power of His Holy Spirit alive and active in your life. His Spirit provides the means for you to pray the prayers to unlock all the power of heaven.

In this short book Norvel Hayes explains the truth about praying in the spirit with the evidence of speaking in tongues. Read about the role of the God’s Spirit in your life, break through the confusion surrounding the topic of speaking in tongues, and learn to receive all that God has for you through the power of His Spirit.”

Nowhere But Up: The Story of Justin Bieber’s Mom by Pattie Mallette

How could I resist? I saw this little treasure at the local used book emporium and guffawed when I read the back. I wonder exactly how much she can talk about her life and not the Bieb’s without writing the literary equivalent of a poop smear.

“Most people only know her as Justin Bieber’s mom, but Pattie Mallette has had an incredible journey of her own. Many people have heard of her son’s rags to riches triumph. A few know she was a teen mom who had to overcome a drug and alcohol addiction. Even fewer know the rest of her story.

Now, for the first time in detail, Pattie shares with the world the story of a girl who felt abandoned and unloved. Of a teenager who made poor choices. Of a young woman who attempted suicide and could hardly bear to believe that God would ever care for her. One who messed up, got pregnant, and got a second chance. Every reader will find themselves somewhere in Pattie’s painful journey of redemption. They will be encouraged by her example that what was once broken can become whole. 

Pattie’s story will inspire readers to believe that even in the darkest of places, there’s always hope. For those who feel unlovable, there’s always love. And for those who believe they’re a lost cause, there’s always room for another chance.”

Jesus Is Awesome! by Danny Lovett

This book doesn’t have an Amazon description (imagine that!) It’s basically a “how-to” evangelism book for the especially zealous youngster.

My good buddy Schyler let me borrow this book. She went to Tennessee Temple University, and Mr. Lovett was the President for the duration of her education there. Apparently, this book was a required text for the students (how convenient for book sales!). She said he used to have the school congregations answer “Awesome!” when he shouted “Jesus is….”

Yikes.

Also interestingly, he resigned as president following allegations of plagiarism. He lifted entire passages from another pastor’s book without giving due credit. I’m dying to know what all these Evangelical students at TTU had to read. Trainwreck con artists like Lovett and brainwashing already staunchly religious students fascinate me in equal measure.

When God Writes Your Love Story by Eric and Leslie Ludy

I want to read about cheap sensual passion and how I can avoid it so men will really love me. Can I ever regain my innocence, so I can be pure and holy as the Lord wants me to be for my future husband?

In their most popular book, bestselling authors Eric and Leslie Ludy challenge singles to take a fresh approach to relationships in a culture where love has been replaced by cheap sensual passion. When God Writes Your Love Story shows that God’s way to true love brings fulfillment and romance in its purest, richest, and most satisfying form. This new edition includes an extra chapter from Leslie Ludy about the surprises of life after marriage!

I had dreamed of a perfect love story for my entire life. But somewhere in the midst of the endless cycle of temporary romances, my dreams had shattered.” How can I find a love worth waiting for? 

Lay the foundation now—whether you’ve met your future spouse or not—for a lifelong romance. Bestselling authors Eric and Leslie Ludy invite you to discover how beautiful your love story can be when the Author of romance scripts every detail.”

Anyway, here is the link to the Facebook poll to vote. If you’d prefer not to use facebook or want to remain anonymous, feel free to leave a comment here with your vote and I’ll add in in to the tally. I can’t wait to see which one you pick for me!

4 responses to “New Year & New Book

What did you think of this post? Please comment!

