Slut of the Week: Bullied Teen Edition

slide_256422_1632646_free

I realize I am hearing about this close to 6 months after all the media hubbub, but I recently stumbled upon the tragic story of Amanda Todd. For those of you who, like me, pay about as much attention to mainstream media as a cow at Mass, here’s a brief recap.

This 13 year old Canadian girl, Amanda, posted a youtube video describing how she had been cyber bullied, which went viral after she committed suicide. Apparently she had made the foolish decision to show her breasts to some guy she liked on the internet, and he took screenshots and later attempted to blackmail her.

Some people seem to have the opinion that she brought her fate upon herself by flashing her little pre-pubescent boobies on Chatroulette, thereby giving public access to intimate screenshots and opening the door to endless slut-shaming. Apparently this guy followed her and tried to blackmail her with the photos over the course of several months. She changed schools, deactivated social media profiles and broke ties with toxic friendships, but still the photos followed her. The result was the same each time; she would be taunted, threatened and judged by her peers when her “slutty” past resurfaced.

Then there was some story about her having sex with some guy she thought liked her, but already had a girlfriend somewhere. A 13 year old girl having sex. Blows my mind. Almost as much as it blows my mind that the girlfriend found out and declared her a manipulative, evil bitch and beat her up at her school.

My personal conclusion is simple. Maybe she was a scheming little twat. Maybe she was a misguided youth, like so many who just want attention, whether good or bad. Maybe she was a victim with extreme psychological and emotional trouble. Regardless, anyone who says a freaking child deserved to die, because she made some foolish decisions, is a hateful piece of shit in my book.

Some of her last words on her suicide video?

I’m struggling to stay in this world, because everything just touches me so deeply. I’m not doing this for attention. I’m doing this to be an inspiration and to show that I can be strong. I did things to myself to make pain go away, because I’d rather hurt myself then someone else. Haters are haters but please don’t hate, although im sure I’ll get them. I hope I can show you guys that everyone has a story, and everyones future will be bright one day, you just gotta pull through. I’m still here aren’t I?

So here’s to Amanda. I’m sorry she was so overwhelmed by the vitriol and judgment at such a young age that she felt the need to take her own life. I bare my breasts in her honor, and raise two extended middle fingers to anyone who tries to marginalize a person’s dignity based on a foolish choice. Even lots of them.

6 responses to “Slut of the Week: Bullied Teen Edition

  1. I disagree to call those choices ‘foolish’. She just wanted to give some intimacy and joy to what she thought was her nice and gentle boyfriend, like most girls and boys do when they discover the tenderness and first emotions of love. She didn’t know he was just full of s”!t and abusing her trust. What is foolish in that? He is the fool, not her! Hence the importance of sexual education at an early age, to avoid such misunderstandings at an age where all is new and interrogations have to be answered.

    • You raise a very valid point, and in that context I agree with you. There is nothing foolish in wanting to share yourself intimately with another. It was naive of her, but not foolish. What I meant as foolish was choosing to expose herself on a site like ChatRoulette, where multiple people (and complete strangers) can watch her. That’s just begging for trouble. But I agree with your main point.

What did you think of this post? Please comment!

