Dirty Slut Clothing—Keep Fresh, Stay Dirty

The Internet has brought me some incredible finds, especially since I started [AS] last year. I’ve met some fabulous S.L.U.T’s, and when I find noteworthy folks, I am only too happy to pass on the good vibes.

Case in point: Dirty Slut Clothing. One of the owners recently sent me a message, and we hit it off chatting about blogging, atheism tawdry tales and business. I figured I’d be doing everyone a solid by sharing their site and a message from the owner. Check out their store and support more people who aren’t offended by the word ‘slut’ and take a lighthearted tone towards all things taboo.

Here are some of my favorite items from their store:

dirty slut clothing dirty slut clothing dirty slut clothing

dirty slut clothing

Dirty Slut Clothing

Who are we?

A UK based Clothing label with a tendency for the ungodly. That’s not to say that we’re involved or even associated with Satanism, which would be too much of a leap. We do however enjoy icons such as upside down crosses which is both in street fashion right now but also a reminder of times gone by. The resurrection of old icons and changing their meanings has taken place throughout history and we are, after all, part of history ourselves – if only in some small way.

Why ‘Dirty Slut’ Clothing?

I realise that the term ‘Dirty Slut’ doesn’t necessarily inspire fun feelings for any consumer, but it is the brain child designed exactly for that purpose. It’s light hearted and a little cheeky ;). It’s a little poke at the way that we (the human race, particularly in the West) view sex as a bad thing (As shown by the use of a word such as ‘slut’) but at the same time remain fixated on getting sex at every turn or feeling bad or inadequate at our inability to get it. I think of it as fun, fresh and a little daring within the current, post-religious, era that we seem to be heavily involved with (or arguably headed towards) right now.

I cannot help but be aware that the brand name is not for everyone, time and time again I hear things like “Well, the design is nice but I’m not sure I want ‘Dirty Slut’ across my chest” which I have to admit I find kind of sad from time to time. Nevertheless, there it is a symptom of sexual repression right there. What’s funny is that short skirts, push up bras, provocative make up, 6 packs, muscles, designer facial hair – they’re all things which make us feel good about ourselves (though I have to admit, I would never publicly admit to enjoying a short skirt from time to time…;)). What’s that? I hear you say something like “but I don’t wear what I do for other people, I do it so that I feel good about myself – for me!” I’d urge anyone who thinks in this way to ask themselves one question – if dressing to impress truly is all about you and your own self-esteem, how often do you dress up in your best shoes, expensive make up, or use your most manly hair product and tightest tank top to then simply have a lazy day in the house sitting in front of the TV? I would hazard a guess at ‘Never’. Rather, most people generate their self-esteem by looking at themselves through others’ eyes and thus to be ‘sexy’ to other people is to ‘feel confident within yourself and who you are’ (or at least how you look- sadly used as synonyms all too often).

The lesson here being that implicitly, stamping ‘I am sexually available’ or ‘sexually confident’ or sexually free and open minded is just fine in the minds of most – but to say it explicitly is something far too crass, far too vulgar and far too shameful to do. I suppose that at the heart of it all, this is an idea that Dirty Slut Clothing would like to challenge! Own the language and you dissolve the problem – that is to say, turn the word slut into an everyday word and it can no longer be used as a default means of sexual oppression or stigma. Be a slut because sex can be a good thing for those who know what they want, much like ordering a delicious meal or ordering fine wine – your taste may require refinement, but if reflected upon and practiced, it can be one of the best things about being human!

But as I said, we’re all about the light hearted fun! 😉

 What do you do?

We’ve been going just over a year now, we’ve grown considerably and we have high hopes for the future! We sell contemporary style clothes with the added goal of including some culture (which will be shown in our next range — coming soon!) It won’t be high culture, but still, better than ‘NERD’ on a shirt in my opinion. J We aim to provide a range of threads and garments at an equally varied price range for those who only have some spare money set aside, or those wishing to get something a little more expensive, but also, eye catching. We’re looking to eventually break into categories from specifically designed women’s attire of all sizes and shapes. Diversity is certainly the key!

Ultimately, we don’t know where we’re heading, not really…but then who does? We’re just having fun and enjoying the ride, wherever it may take us!

Have a browse through our items, maybe place an order. Any likes and shares of the facebook/instagram/twitter pages would of course be welcomed with a warm heart.

I’d say God bless you but…well, I’d like to say something more meaningful like: I wish you all the best of luck in the future and that it’s been a pleasure introducing a little corner of my world to you!

Thanks!

2 responses to “Dirty Slut Clothing—Keep Fresh, Stay Dirty

What did you think of this post? Please comment!

